Tete Province trip planner

Create a fully customized
day by day itinerary for free

Vienna Itinerary Planner

+ Add destination
2 adults
- +
- +
- +
Trip Planner Africa  /  Mozambique  /  Tete Province

Tete Province

Churches · Bodies of Water
Tete is a province of Mozambique. It has an area of 98,417 km² and a population of 1,783,967 (2007 census).Tete is the capital of the province. The Cahora Bassa Dam is situated in this province.DistrictsOn March 21, 2013, Mozambique's Assembly of the Republic authorized the creation of 13 new districts throughout the nation. Two were added to Tete. Tete Province's districts include: Angónia DistrictCahora-Bassa DistrictChangara DistrictChifunde DistrictChiuta DistrictTete, the capital city of the provinceDoa DistrictMacanga DistrictMagoé DistrictMarávia DistrictMarara DistrictMoatize DistrictMutarara DistrictTsangano DistrictZumbo DistrictCoal resourcesHistory of coal discoveryIn 1859 Richard Thornton completed the first studies of coal occurrence in the Tete Province as part of an exhibition under Dr. David Livingstone. In his report from the trip, Mr. Thornton stated that the coal, which was dug by natives from an outcropping seam on the bank of the River Muntizi, showed no tendency to cake; was free-burning; contained very little sulphur or iron although a large proportion of ash along with a small amount of gaseous matter
Take a peek at our online itinerary creator: Tete Province and its charms laid bare and easily scheduled.
Create a full itinerary — for free!

Plan your trip to Tete Province

  • Get a personalized trip
    A complete day by day itinerary
    based on your preferences
  • Customize it
    Refine your trip. We'll find the
    best routes and schedules
  • Book it
    Choose from the best hotels
    and activities. Up to 50% off
  • Manage it
    Everything in one place.
    Everyone on the same page.

Places to visit in Tete Province